Assault and battery using a dangerous weapon

 

 

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 265, Section 15A/15B govern Assault and Battery by means of a dangerous weapon. Punishment for assault and battery with a dangerous weapon in Massachusetts can range from probation to ten (10) years in prison or a find of up to $5,000.00. The law provides for harsher penalties for victims that are over 60, disabled, preganant or for those who have an an outstanding 209A restraining order in place.

 

 

Penalty

 

Whoever, by means of a dangerous weapon, commits an assault upon a person sixty years or older, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than five years or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars or imprisonment in jail for not more than 2 1/2 years. 

 

 

Whoever commits an assault and battery upon an elder or person with a disability shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 3 years or by imprisonment in a house of correction for not more than 2 1/2 years, or by a fine of not more than $1,000, or both such fine and imprisonment.

 

 

Whoever, by means of a dangerous weapon, commits an assault on a person whom he/she has a current 209 restraing order in place faces imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 15 years or in the house of correction for not more than 2 1/2 years, or by a fine of not more than $10,000, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

 

 

 

Contact an Expert Violent Crimes Attorney

 

At the Law Offices of Michael R. St. Louis, we are fully prepared to handle your assault and battery case. As a leading Boston criminal defense law firm, we can provide you with the direction and legal counsel you need to fight your misdemeanor or felony charges. Call our Law Offices today for your initial consultation at 781-816-3950 or contact us online.

 


 

Si el español es el unico idioma, por favor pongase en contacto con nuestro traductor Eneria Noguera al 508-839-2376 o contactenos en linea.

 
Attorney at Law