Motor Vehicle Offenses

 

 

 Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Defense Attorney

 

Motor Vehicle offenses are very serious in that they can effect your license status which can effect your ability to work. If you depend on a commercial drivers license, you may loose your ability to earn a living.  These charges are usually misdemeanors, but the police can and do charge these as felonies if serious enough.

 

 

Penalties for Motor Vehicle Violations Include

 

 

  • Theft of motor vehicle carries up to shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than fifteen years or by imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than two and one-half years or by a fine of not more than fifteen thousand dollars, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

 

 

  • Opearting without a license carries up to 10 days in jail or up to a $500 fine.

 

 

  • Operating without insurance carries a fine of between $500 -$5000

 

 

  • Negligent Operation and Reckless Operation both fall under the umbrella of Massachusetts' Driving to Endanger laws. (Chapter 90 , Section 24(1)(h)(2)(a).  Reckless could mean knowingly risking, at a level that is more than careless. Driving 100mph at night with your lights off might be considered reckless and dangerous driving. Negligent Operation need only be proven to be negligent, which could be carelessness, or simply not paying attention.  The penalty for both may be up to 2 years in jail and/or a $200 fine.

 

 

  • Leaving the Scene with no injury carries a fine of between $20 and $200 ; Jail sentence for between 2 weeks and 2 years. If injury occurs then the penalty is a fine of $500 to $1,000 and a jail sentence of between 6 months and 2 years.

 

 

  •  Motor Vehicle Homocide carries up to 2 1/2 years in jail for misdemeanor; Up to 15 yrs in prison for felony conviction

 

 

  • Operating after license suspension carries a sentense of up to 10 days in jail and a $500 fine. If your opearting after DUI suspension, the penalty is a mandatory 60 days in jail. 

 

 

  • Failure to obey a police officer carries a fine of $100.

 

 

  • Attaching false plate carries a fine of $100 and/or up to 10 days in jail.

 

 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
CONTACT AN EXPERT CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY


If you have been charged with a Motor Vehicle offense then you need to call Massachusetts defense attorney Michael St. Louis at 781-816-3950 (24) hours per day, 7 days per week. You can also contact us online.


 

Si español es el unico idioma, por favor pongase en contacto con nuestro traductor Eneria Noguera al 508-839-2376 o contactenos en linea.

 
Attorney at Law